Wise County, Virginia Records

Wise County, Virginia (Map It) was created in February 16, 1856 from Lee County, Russell County and Scott County. Wise county was named for Henry Alexander Wise, governor of Virginia.

Wise County is bordered by Letcher County, Kentucky (northwest), Pike County, Kentucky (north), Dickenson County (northeast), Russell County (east), Scott County (south), Lee County (southwest), Harlan County, Kentucky (west).

Wise County Cities and Towns include Appalachia, Big Stone Gap, Coeburn, Pound, Wise and St. Paul .

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Virginia maps.

Wise County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Wise County, VA Courthouse
  • Save

Wise County, VA Courthouse

The Wise County Courthouse is located in Wise, Virginia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Wise County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

Wise County, Virginia Census Records

Wise County, Virginia Vital Records

Wise County, Virginia Resources

Wise County, Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save