Harlan County, Kentucky Records

Harlan County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on January 28, 1819 from Knox County (portions of its territory went to form Letcher, Bell, and Leslie counties). The county was named in honor of Silas Harlan (1753–1782), army major in the Battle of Blue Licks.

Harlan County is bordered by Perry County (north), Letcher County (northeast), Wise County, Virginia (east), Lee County, Virginia (southeast), Bell County (southwest), Leslie County (northwest).

Harlan County Cities and Towns include Benham, Cumberland, Dayhoit, Evarts, Harlan, Loyall, Lynch, South Wallins, Wallins Creek.

A Map of Harlan County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Harlan County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Harlan County, Kentucky Courthouse
  • Save

Harlan County, KY Courthouse

The Harlan County Courthouse is located in Harlan, Kentucky. The courthouse burned in Oct 1863, but the county clerk's records were saved. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Harlan county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Harlan County, Kentucky Census Records

Harlan County, Kentucky Vital Records

Harlan County, Kentucky Resources

Harlan County, Kentucky External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save