Wells County, North Dakota Records

Wells County was established as Gringras County in 1873 from Buffalo County, it as renamed Wells County on February 26, 1881 and was organized on August 28, 1884. The county was named in honor of Dakota territorial legislator Edward Payson Wells..

Wells County is bordered by Benson County (north), Eddy County (east), Foster County (east), Stutsman County (southeast), Kidder County (south), Sheridan County (west), Pierce County.

Wells County Cities and Towns include Bowdon, Cathay, Fessenden, Hamberg, Harvey, Hurdsfield, Sykeston.

Wells County Townships include Berlin, Bilodeau, Bremen, Bull Moose, Cathay, Chaseley, Crystal Lake, Delger, Fairville, Forward, Fram, Germantown, Haaland, Hamburg, Hawksnest, Heimdal, Hillsdale, Johnson, Lynn, Manfred, Norway Lake, Oshkosh, Pony Gulch, Progress, Rusland, Saint Anna, Silver Lake, South Cottonwood, Speedwell, Sykeston, Valhalla, Wells, West Norway, West Ontario, Western, Woodward.

A Map of Wells County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wells County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Wells County, North Dakota Courthouse
  • Save

Wells County, ND Courthouse

The Wells County Courthouse is located in Fessenden, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wells county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Wells County Register of Deeds / Recorder has Land Records from 1873. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records.
  • Wells County Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1887, Probate Records from 1873 and Court Records from 1873. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Wells County, North Dakota Census Records

Wells County, North Dakota Vital Records

Wells County, North Dakota Resources

Wells County, North Dakota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save