Morris County, New Jersey Records

Morris County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on  March 15, 1739 from Hunterdon County. The county was named in honor of Colonel Lewis Morris (1671–1746), colonial governor of New Jersey at the time of the county's formation .

Morris County is bordered by Sussex County (north), Passaic County (northeast), Essex County (east), Union County (east), Somerset County (south), Hunterdon County (southwest), Warren County (west).

Morris County Cities and Towns include Boonton, Dover, Morristown. Communities include Budd Lake, Cedar Knolls, Cedar Lake, Convent Station, Flanders, Green Pond, Green Village, Hibernia, Lake Hiawatha, Lake Swannanoa, Lake Telemark, Landing, Long Valley, Mount Tabor, New Vernon, Pine Brook, Port Morris, Stirling, Succasunna-Kenvil, Towaco, Union Hill, Whippany, White Meadow Lake.

Morris County Townships include Boonton, Chatham, Chester, Denville, East Hanover, Hanover, Harding, Jefferson, Long Hill, Mendham, Mine Hill, Montville, Morris, Mount Olive, Parsippany-Troy Hills, Pequannock, Randolph, Rockaway, Roxbury, Washington. Boroughs include Butler, Chatham, Chester, Florham Park, Kinnelon, Lincoln Park, Madison, Mendham, Morris Plains, Mount Arlington, Mountain Lakes, Netcong, Rockaway, Riverdale, Victory Gardens, Wharton.

A Map of Morris County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Morris County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Morris County, NJ Courthouse

The Morris County Courthouse is located in Morristown, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Morris county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Early Surrogate’s files and books, circuit court and court of common pleas records, naturalizations, marriages (1795 - 1876), and other material are located at the Morris County Records Center and Archives, 300 Mendham Rd., Morristown, NJ 07960, which should be contacted before a visit.

  • Morris County Clerk has Land Records from 1765 mortgages /1785 deeds and Marriage Records from 1765. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Morris CountySurrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1785 orphans' court minutes /1804 surrogates' records. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Morris County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Morris County, New Jersey Census Records

Morris County, New Jersey Vital Records

Morris County, New Jersey Resources

Morris County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save