Essex County, New Jersey Records

Essex County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on March 1, 1683 as one of four original counties created in East Jersey. The county was named for the county of Essex in England .

Essex County is bordered by Passaic County (north), Bergen County (east), Hudson County (east), Union County (south), Morris County (west).

Essex County Cities and Towns include East Orange, Newark.

Essex County Townships include Belleville, Bloomfield, Cedar Grove, City of Orange, Fairfield, Irvington, Livingston, Maplewood, Millburn, Montclair, Nutley, South Orange Village, Verona, West Caldwell, West Orange. Boroughs include Caldwell, Essex Fells, Glen Ridge, North Caldwell, Roseland.

A Map of Essex County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Essex County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Essex County, NJ Courthouse

The Essex County Courthouse is located in Newark, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Essex county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

The Hall of Records is located at 465 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Newark, NJ 07102. Volume A of deeds, dating back to 1688, was supposedly destroyed in a fire. Volume A of mortgages is missing.

  • Essex County Clerk has Land Records from 1783 mortgages /1728 deeds and Marriage Records from 1683 . The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Essex County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1783 orphans' court minutes /1804 surrogates' records. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Essex County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Essex County, New Jersey Census Records

Essex County, New Jersey Vital Records

Essex County, New Jersey Resources

Essex County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save