Passaic County, New Jersey Records

Passaic County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on February 7, 1837 from Essex County and Bergen County. The county was named for "Pasaeck", a Lenape word meaning "valley" .

Passaic County is bordered by Bergen County (east), Essex County (south), Morris County (southwest), Sussex County (west), Orange County, New York (north), Rockland County, New York (northeast).

Passaic County Cities and Towns include Clifton, Passaic, Paterson. Communities include Haskell, Hewitt, Macopin, Newfoundland, Oak Ridge, Pines Lake, Packanack Lake, Preakness.

Passaic County Townships include Little Falls, Wayne, West Milford. Boroughs include Bloomingdale, Haledon, Hawthorne, North Haledon, Pompton Lakes, Prospect Park, Ringwood, Totowa, Wanaque, West Paterson.

A Map of Passaic County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Passaic County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Passaic County, NJ Courthouse

The Passaic County Courthouse is located in Paterson, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Passaic county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Passaic County Clerk has Land Records from 1837 and Marriage Records from 1837. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Passaic County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1837. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Passaic County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Passaic County, New Jersey Census Records

Passaic County, New Jersey Vital Records

Passaic County, New Jersey Resources

Passaic County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save