Hunterdon County, New Jersey Records

Hunterdon County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on 1714 from Burlington County. The county was named in honor of Robert Hunter (1664–1734), the Colonial Governor of New Jersey from 1710 to 1720.

Hunterdon County is bordered by Warren County (north), Morris County (northeast), Somerset County (east), Mercer County (southeast), Bucks County, Pennsylvania (west).

Hunterdon County Cities and Towns include Lambertville, Clinton. Communities include Annandale, Pittstown, Raven Rock, Ringoes, White House Station.

Hunterdon County Townships include Alexandria, Bethlehem, Clinton, Delaware, East Amwell, Franklin, Holland, Kingwood, Lebanon, Raritan, Readington, Tewksbury, Union, West Amwell. Boroughs include Bloomsbury, Califon, Flemington, Frenchtown, Glen Gardner, Hampton, High Bridge, Lebanon, Milford, Stockton.

A Map of Hunterdon County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Hunterdon County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Hunterdon County, NJ Courthouse

The Hunterdon County Courthouse is located in Flemington, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hunterdon county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Hunterdon County Clerk has Land Records from 1766 mortgages / 1785 deeds and Marriage Records from 1714. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Hunterdon County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1785 orphans' court minutes / 1804 surrogates' records . The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Hunterdon County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Hunterdon County, New Jersey Census Records

Hunterdon County, New Jersey Vital Records

Hunterdon County, New Jersey Resources

Hunterdon County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save