Burlington County, New Jersey Records

Burlington County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on 1694 as one of two original counties created in West Jersey. The county was named for the old ancient name for an inland market near Bridlington, England .

Burlington County is bordered by Mercer County (north), Monmouth County (northeast), Ocean County (east), Atlantic County (south), Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania (west), Camden County (west), Bucks County, Pennsylvania (northwest).

Burlington County Cities and Towns include Beverly, Bordentown, Burlington. Communities include Browns Mills, Chatsworth, Country Lake Estates, Crosswicks, Florence-Roebling, Fort Dix, Jobstown, Leisuretowne, Marlton, McGuire Air Force Base, Moorestown-Lenola, |New Gretna, Pemberton Heights, Presidential Lakes Estates, Ramblewood, Vincentown.

Burlington County Townships include Bass River, Bordentown, Burlington, Chesterfield, Cinnaminson, Delanco, Delran, Eastampton, Edgewater Park, Evesham, Florence, Hainesport, Lumberton, Mansfield, Maple Shade, Medford, Moorestown, Mount Holly, Mount Laurel, New Hanover, North Hanover, Pemberton, Riverside, Shamong, Southampton, Springfield, Tabernacle, Washington, Westampton, Willingboro, Woodland. Boroughs include Fieldsboro, Medford Lakes, Palmyra, Pemberton, Riverton, Wrightstown.

A Map of Burlington County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Burlington County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Burlington County, NJ Courthouse

The Burlington County Courthouse is located in Mount Holly Township, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Burlington county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Courts were established in 1681.

  • Burlington County Clerk has Land Records from 1766 mortgages /1785 deeds and Marriage Records from 1694. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Burlington County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1785 orphans' court minutes / 1804 surrogates' records. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Burlington County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Burlington County, New Jersey Census Records

Burlington County, New Jersey Vital Records

Burlington County, New Jersey Resources

Burlington County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save