Monmouth County, New Jersey Records

Monmouth County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on March 1, 1683 as one of four original counties created in East Jersey. The county was named for the historic county of Monmouthshire in Wales.

Monmouth County is bordered by Middlesex County (north), Ocean County (south), Burlington County (southwest), Mercer County (west), Queens County (Queens), New York (northeast), Richmond County (Staten Island), New York (north).

Monmouth County Cities and Towns include Asbury Park, Long Branch, Loch Arbour. Communities include Adelphia, Allenwood, Belford, Cliffwood Beach, Colonial Terrace, East Freehold, Elberon, Fairview, Imlaystown, Leonardo, Lincroft, Morganville, Navesink, New Monmouth, North Middletown, Oakhurst, Ocean Grove, Port-au-peck, Port Monmouth, Ramtown, River Plaza, Sandy Hook, Shark River Hills, Strathmore, Wanamassa, Wayside, West Allenhurst, West Belmar, West Freehold, Wickatunk, Yorketown.

Monmouth County Townships include Aberdeen, Colts Neck, Freehold, Hazlet, Holmdel, Howell, Manalapan, Marlboro, Middletown, Millstone, Neptune, Ocean, Shrewsbury, Upper Freehold, Wall. Boroughs include Allenhurst, Allentown, Atlantic Highlands, Avon-by-the-Sea, Belmar, Bradley Beach, Brielle, Deal, Eatontown, Englishtown, Fair Haven, Farmingdale, Freehold Borough, Highlands, Interlaken, Keansburg, Keyport, Lake Como, Little Silver, Manasquan, Matawan, Monmouth Beach, Neptune City, Oceanport, Red Bank, Roosevelt, Rumson, Sea Bright, Sea Girt, Shrewsbury, Spring Lake, Spring Lake Heights, Tinton Falls, Union Beach, West Long Branch.

A Map of Monmouth County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Monmouth County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Monmouth County, NJ Courthouse

The Monmouth County Courthouse is located in Freehold Borough, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Monmouth county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Some records were destroyed by the British in 1778, which might explain the gap in the deeds from 1756 to 1785. Older records have been transferred to a county records center.

  • Monmouth County Clerk has Land Records from 1766 mortgages / 1667 deeds and Marriage Records from 1683. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Monmouth CountySurrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1785 orphans' court minutes / 1804 surrogates' records. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Monmouth County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Monmouth County, New Jersey Census Records

Monmouth County, New Jersey Vital Records

Monmouth County, New Jersey Resources

Monmouth County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save