Ocean County, New Jersey Records

Ocean County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on February 15, 1850 from Monmouth County. The county was named for the Atlantic Ocean, which forms the eastern border of New Jersey .

Ocean County is bordered by Monmouth County (north), Atlantic County (south), Burlington County (west).

Ocean County Cities and Towns include . Communities include Barnegat CDP, Bayville, Beach Haven West, Cedar Glen Lakes, Cedar Glen West, Crestwood Village, Dover Beaches North, Dover Beaches South, Forked River, High Bar Harbor, Holiday City-Berkeley, Holiday City South, Holiday Heights, Lakewood CDP, Leisure Knoll, Leisure Village, Leisure Village East, Leisure Village West-Pine Lake Park, Loveladies, Manahawkin, Mystic Island, New Egypt, North Beach Haven, Ocean Acres, Pine Ridge at Crestwood, Silver Ridge, Toms River CDP, Vista Center, Waretown, Warren Grove, West Creek.

Ocean County Townships include Barnegat, Berkeley, Brick, Eagleswood, Jackson, Lacey, Lakewood, Little Egg Harbor, Long Beach, Manchester, Ocean, Plumsted, Stafford, Toms River. Boroughs include Barnegat Light, Bay Head, Beach Haven, Beachwood, Harvey Cedars, Island Heights, Lakehurst, Lavallette, Mantoloking, Ocean Gate, Pine Beach, Point Pleasant, Point Pleasant Beach, Seaside Heights, Seaside Park, Ship Bottom, South Toms River, Surf City, Tuckerton.

A Map of Ocean County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Ocean County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Ocean County, NJ Courthouse

The Ocean County Courthouse is located in Toms River, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Ocean county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Ocean County Clerk has Land Records from 1850 and Marriage Records from 1850. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Ocean County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1850. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Ocean County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Ocean County, New Jersey Census Records

Ocean County, New Jersey Vital Records

Ocean County, New Jersey Resources

Ocean County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save