Gloucester County, New Jersey Records

Gloucester County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on May 28, 1686 from Burlington County. The county was named for the city of Gloucester, England .

Gloucester County is bordered by Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania (north), Camden County (northeast), Atlantic County (southeast), Cumberland County (south), Salem County (southwest), New Castle County, Delaware (west), Delaware County, Pennsylvania (northwest).

Gloucester County Cities and Towns include Clayton, Glassboro, National Park, Newfield, Paulsboro, Pitman, Swedesboro, Wenonah, Westville, Woodbury, Woodbury Heights. Communities include Beckett, Bridgeport, Clarksboro, Franklinville, Gibbstown, Malaga, Mickleton, Mount Royal, Mullica Hill, Oak Valley, Thorofare, Turnersville, Victory Lakes, Williamstown.

Gloucester County Townships include Deptford, East Greenwich, Elk, Franklin, Greenwich, Harrison, Logan, Mantua, Monroe, South Harrison, Washington, West Deptford, Woolwich.

A Map of Gloucester County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Gloucester County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Gloucester County, NJ Courthouse

The Gloucester County Courthouse is located in Woodbury, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Gloucester county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1786. Miscellaneous early court records are at the Gloucester County Historical Society.

  • Gloucester County Clerk has Land Records from 1766 mortgages /1785 deeds and Marriage Records from 1686. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Gloucester CountySurrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1785 orphans' court minutes / 1804 surrogates' records. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Gloucester County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Gloucester County, New Jersey Census Records

Gloucester County, New Jersey Vital Records

Gloucester County, New Jersey Resources

Gloucester County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save