Salem County, New Jersey Records

Salem County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on May 17, 1694 as one of two original counties created in West Jersey. The county was named for a Hebrew word meaning "peace" .

Salem County is bordered by Gloucester County (northeast), Cumberland County (southeast), Kent County, Delaware (southwest), New Castle County, Delaware (west).

Salem County Cities and Towns include Salem. Communities include Alloway CDP, Carneys Point CDP, Pennsville CDP, Olivet.

Salem County Townships include Alloway Township, Carneys Point Township, Elsinboro Township, Lower Alloways Creek Township, Mannington Township, Oldmans Township, Pennsville Township, Pilesgrove Township, Pittsgrove Township, Quinton Township, Upper Pittsgrove Township. Boroughs include Elmer, Penns Grove, Woodstown.

A Map of Salem County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Salem County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Salem County, NJ Courthouse

The Salem County Courthouse is located in Salem, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Salem county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Courts were established in 1681.

  • Salem County Clerk has Land Records from 1766 mortgages /1786 deeds and Marriage Records from 1766. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Salem County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1785 orphans' court minutes /1804 surrogates' records. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Salem County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Salem County, New Jersey Census Records

Salem County, New Jersey Vital Records

Salem County, New Jersey Resources

Salem County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save