Cumberland County, New Jersey Records

Cumberland County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on 1748 from Salem County. The county was named in honor of Prince William, Duke of Cumberland (1721–1765), second son of George II of England and military victor at the Battle of Culloden in 1746 .

Cumberland County is bordered by Gloucester County (north), Atlantic County (northeast), Cape May County (southeast), Kent County, Delaware (west), Salem County (northwest).

Cumberland County Cities and Towns include Bridgeton, Millville, Vineland. Communities include Cedarville, Delmont, Dorchester, Fairton, Fortescue, Laurel Lake, Mauricetown, Port Elizabeth, Port Norris, Rosenhayn, Seabrook Farms.

Cumberland County Townships include Commercial, Deerfield, Downe, Fairfield, Greenwich, Hopewell, Lawrence, Maurice River, Stow Creek, Upper Deerfield. Boroughs include Shiloh.

A Map of Cumberland County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cumberland County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Cumberland County, NJ Courthouse

The Cumberland County Courthouse is located in Bridgeton, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cumberland county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Cumberland County Clerk has Land Records from 1766 mortgages / 1785 deeds and Marriage Records from 1748. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Cumberland County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1785 orphans' court minutes / 1804 surrogates' records. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Cumberland County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Cumberland County, New Jersey Census Records

Cumberland County, New Jersey Vital Records

Cumberland County, New Jersey Resources

Cumberland County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save