Cape May County, New Jersey Records

Cape May County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on November 12, 1692 from Burlington County. The county was named in honor of 17th-century Dutch explorer Cornelius Jacobsen Mey, who explored and surveyed the Delaware Bay to the south of the county .

Cape May County is bordered by  Atlantic County (north), Cumberland County (northwest).

Cape May County Cities and Towns include Cape May, North Wildwood, Ocean City, Sea Isle City, Wildwood. Communities include Cape May Court House, Dennisville, Diamond Beach, Erma, Marmora, North Cape May, Strathmere, Tuckahoe, Rio Grande, Villas, Whitesboro-Burleigh.

Cape May County Townships include Dennis Township, Lower Township, Middle Township, Upper Township. Boroughs include Avalon, Cape May Point, Stone Harbor, West Cape May, West Wildwood, Wildwood Crest, Woodbine.

A Map of Cape May County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cape May County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

  • Save

Cape May County, NJ Courthouse

The Cape May County Courthouse is located in Cape May Court House, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cape May county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Courts were established in 1685.

  • Cape May County Clerk has Land Records from 1770 mortgages / 1785 deeds and Marriage Records from 1692. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Cape May County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1786 orphans' court minutes / 1804 surrogates' records. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Cape May County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Cape May County, New Jersey Census Records

Cape May County, New Jersey Vital Records

Cape May County, New Jersey Resources

Cape May County, New Jersey External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save