Buffalo County, Nebraska Records

Buffalo County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on March 14, 1855 from Unorganized area of the Nebraska Territory. The county was named for the American Bison which once roamed the present county.

Buffalo County is bordered by Hall County  (east), Adams County  (southeast), Kearney County  (south), Phelps County  (southwest), Dawson County  (west), Custer County  (northwest), Sherman County  (north), Howard County  (northeast).

Buffalo County Cities and Towns include Amherst, Buda, Elm Creek, Gibbon, Kearney, Miller, Pleasanton, Ravenna, Riverdale, Shelton.

Buffalo County Townships include Armada, Beaver, Cedar, Center, Cherry Creek, Collins, Divide, Elm Creek, Gardner, Garfield, Gibbon, Grant, Harrison, Logan, Loup, Odessa, Platte, Riverdale, Rusco, Sartoria, Schneider, Scott, Sharon, Shelton, Thornton, Valley.

A Map of Buffalo County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Buffalo County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Buffalo County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Buffalo County, NE Courthouse

The Buffalo County Courthouse is located in Kearney, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Buffalo county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Buffalo County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1872. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Buffalo County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1870. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Buffalo Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1874 and Court Records from 1871. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1871,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Buffalo County, Nebraska Census Records

Buffalo County, Nebraska Vital Records

Buffalo County, Nebraska Resources

Buffalo County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save