Dawson County, Nebraska Records

Dawson County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on January 11, 1860 from Unorganized area of the Nebraska Territory. The county was named in honor of Jacob Dawson, the first postmaster in present-day Lincoln, Nebraska, the state capital.

Dawson County is bordered by Buffalo County  (east), Phelps County  (southeast), Gosper County  (south), Frontier County  (southwest), Lincoln County  (west), Custer County  (north).

Dawson County Cities and Towns include Cozad, Gothenburg, Lexington, Eddyville, Farnam, verton, Sumner.

A Map of Dawson County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Dawson County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Dawson County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Dawson County, NE Courthouse

The Dawson County Courthouse is located in Lexington, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Dawson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Dawson County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1873. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Dawson County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1871. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Dawson Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1871 and Court Records from 1870. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1870,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Dawson County, Nebraska Census Records

Dawson County, Nebraska Vital Records

Dawson County, Nebraska Resources

Dawson County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save