Kearney County, Nebraska Records

Kearney County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on January 10, 1860 from Unorganized area of the Nebraska Territory. The county was named for Fort Kearny - when the county was created the fort's name was misspelled.

Kearney County is bordered by Buffalo County  (north), Adams County  (east), Webster County  (southeast), Franklin County  (south), Harlan County - southwest corner, Phelps County  (west).

Kearney County Cities and Towns include Minden, Axtell, Heartwell, Norman, Wilcox.

Kearney County Townships include Blaine, Cosmo, Eaton, Grant, Hayes, Liberty, Lincoln, Logan, Lowell, May, Mirage, Newark, Oneida, Sherman.

A Map of Kearney County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Kearney County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Kearney County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Kearney County, NE Courthouse

The Kearney County Courthouse is located in Minden, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Kearney county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Kearney County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1872. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Kearney County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1872. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Kearney Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1873 and Court Records from 1873. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1873,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Kearney County, Nebraska Census Records

Kearney County, Nebraska Vital Records

Kearney County, Nebraska Resources

Kearney County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save