Harlan County, Nebraska Records

Harlan County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on March 01, 1871 from Kearney County. The county was named for either James Harlan, who was the United States Secretary of the Interiorin 1865 and 1866; or a revenue collector by the name of Harlan who once lived near Republican City, Nebraska.

Harlan County is bordered by Phelps County  (north), Kearney County (northeast), Franklin County  (east), Phillips County, Kansas  (south), Norton County, Kansas  (southwest), Furnas County  (west).

Harlan County Cities and Towns include Alma, Huntley, rleans, xford , Ragan, Republican City, Stamford.

Harlan County Townships include Albany, Alma, Antelope, Eldorado, Emerson, Fairfield, Mullally, Orleans, Prairie Dog, Republican City, Reuben, Sappa, Scandinavia, Spring Grove, Turkey Creek, Washington.

A Map of Harlan County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Harlan County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Harlan County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Harlan County, NE Courthouse

The Harlan County Courthouse is located in Alma, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Harlan county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Harlan County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1873. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Harlan County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1871. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Harlan Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1871 and Court Records from 1871. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1871,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Harlan County, Nebraska Census Records

Harlan County, Nebraska Vital Records

Harlan County, Nebraska Resources

Harlan County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save