Sherman County, Nebraska Records

Sherman County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on March 01, 1871 from Buffalo County and Unorganized area of the Nebraska Territory. The county was named in honor of William Tecumseh Sherman, the American Civil War general.

Sherman County is bordered by Howard County  (east), Buffalo County  (south), Custer County  (west), Valley County  (north), Greeley County  (northeast).

Sherman County Cities and Towns include Ashton, Hazard, Litchfield, Loup City, Rockville.

A Map of Sherman County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Sherman County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Sherman County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Sherman County, NE Courthouse

The Sherman County Courthouse is located in Loup City, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Sherman county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Sherman County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1873. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Sherman County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1871. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Sherman Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1871 and Court Records from 1871. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1871,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Sherman County, Nebraska Census Records

Sherman County, Nebraska Vital Records

Sherman County, Nebraska Resources

Sherman County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save