Morgan County, Missouri Records

Morgan County, Missouri (Map It) was created on January 5, 1833 from Cooper County. The county was named in honor of Daniel Morgan (c. 1736–1802), American pioneer, soldier, and United States Representative from Virginia.

Morgan County is bordered by Cooper County (north), Moniteau County (northeast), Miller County (southeast), Camden County (south), Benton County (west), Pettis County (northwest).

Morgan County Cities and Towns include Barnett, Florence, Gravois Mills, Laurie, Rocky Mount, Stover, Sunrise Beach, Syracuse, Versailles.

A Map of Morgan County, Missouri contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Morgan County, Missouri Courthouse Records

Morgan County, Missouri Courthouse
  • Save

Morgan County, MO Courthouse

The Morgan County Courthouse is located in Versailles, Missouri. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Morgan county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Records incomplete. Courthouse burned 1887.

  • Morgan County Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1833 and Land Records from 1837
  • Morgan County Circuit Court Clerk / Probate Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1834  and Court & Divorce Records from 1833.
  • Morgan County Clerk of the Court has Birth Records from 1841-63 and 1883-86 only and Death Records from 1883-86
  • Morgan County Tax Assessor Office is responsible for appraising and assessing real estate property and person property for the purpose of taxation as well as transferring ownership of real estate, and keeping real estate maps up to date.
  • Local Records Inventory Database, produced by the Missouri Local Records Preservation Program, is a compilation of inventories of local government records identified as having permanent or enduring value and housed primarily in county and municipal offices, but includes some libraries, museums, and historical and genealogical societies that maintain government records. Not all Missouri offices have been inventoried.
  • Morgan County Health Department has Birth Certificates since 1920 and Death Certificates since 1980

Morgan County, Missouri Census Records

Morgan County, Missouri Vital Records

Morgan County, Missouri Resources

Morgan County, Missouri External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save