Itasca County, Minnesota Records

Itasca County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on October 27, 1849 (Organized in 1891) from Unorganized Territory. The county was named in honor of Lake Itasca. Lake Itasca was named by the explorer Henry R. Schoolcraft in 1832. He made up the name by combining the Latin words veritas and caput, which mean "truth" and "head", respectively. Schoolcraft discovered the source of the Mississippi river at the lake.

Itasca County is bordered by Koochiching County (north), St. Louis County (east), Aitkin County (south), Cass County (southwest), Beltrami County (west).

Itasca County Cities and Towns include Bigfork, Bovey, Calumet, Cohasset, Coleraine, Deer River, Effie, Grand Rapids, Keewatin, La Prairie, Marble, Nashwauk, Squaw Lake, Taconite, Warba, Zemple.

Itasca County Townships include Alvwood, Arbo, Ardenhurst, Balsam, Bearville, Bigfork, Blackberry, Bowstring, Carpenter, Deer River, Feeley, Good Hope, Goodland, Grand Rapids, Grattan, Greenway, Harris, Iron Range, Kinghurst, Lake Jessie, Lawrence, Liberty, Lone Pine, Marcell, Max, Moose Park, Morse, Nashwauk, Nore, Oteneagen, Pomroy, Sago, Sand Lake, Spang, Splithand, Stokes, Third River, Trout Lake, Wabana, Wawina, Wildwood, Wirt Townships.

A Map of Itasca County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Itasca County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Itasca County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Itasca County, MN Courthouse

The Itasca County Courthouse is located in Grand Rapids, Minnesota. At some time Itasca County was attached to Washington County, Benton County, Chisago County, Crow Wing County, Morrison County, St. Louis County and Aitkin County for county and or judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Itasca county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Itasca County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1893, Marriage Records from 1891 and Land Records from 1868. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Itasca County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1898 and Court Records from 1891. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Itasca County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Itasca County, Minnesota Census Records

Itasca County, Minnesota Vital Records

Itasca County, Minnesota Resources

Itasca County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save