Aitkin County, Minnesota Records

Aitkin County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on May 23, 1857 (Organized in 1885) from Pine County and Ramsey County. The county was named in honor of William Alexander Aitken (1785-1851) (whose name is properly spelled with an "e"), a fur trader with the Ojibways.

Aitkin County is bordered by Itasca County (north), St. Louis County (northeast), Carlton County (east), Pine County (southeast), Kanabec County (south), Mille Lacs County (south), Crow Wing County (southwest), Cass County (northwest).

Aitkin County Cities and Towns include Aitkin, Hill City, McGrath, McGregor, Palisade, Tamarack.

Aitkin County Townships include Aitkin, Ball Bluff, Balsam, Beaver, Clark, Cornish, Farm Island, Fleming, Glen, Haugen, Hazelton, Hill Lake, Idun, Jevne, Kimberly, Lakeside, Lee, Libby, Logan, Macville, Malmo, McGregor, Millward, Morrison, Nordland, Pliny, Rice River, Salo, Seavey, Shamrock, Spalding, Spencer, Turner, Verdon, Wagner, Waukenabo, Wealthwood, White Pine, Williams, Workman Townships.

A Map of Aitkin County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Aitkin County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Aitkin County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Aitkin County, MN Courthouse

The Aitkin County Courthouse is located in Aitkin, Minnesota. Aitkin County was attached to Crow Wing County and Morrison County for county and judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Aitkin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Aitkin County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1874 / 1885, Marriage Records from 1885 and Land Records from 1872. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Aitkin County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1890 and Court Records from 1862. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Aitkin County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Aitkin County, Minnesota Census Records

Aitkin County, Minnesota Vital Records

Aitkin County, Minnesota Resources

Aitkin County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save