Worcester County, Maryland Records

Worcester County, Maryland (Map It) was created on October 22, 1742 from Somerset County. This county was named in honor of Mary Arundell, the wife of Sir John Somerset, son of the 1st Marquess of Worcester, and sister of Anne Arundell, the wife of Cæcilius Calvert, 2nd Baron Baltimore..

Worcester County is bordered by Accomack County, Virginia (south), Somerset County (west), Sussex County, Delaware (north), Wicomico County (northwest).

Worcester County Cities and Towns include Pocomoke City (incorporated 1865), Berlin (incorporated 1868), Ocean City (incorporated 1880), Snow Hill (incorporated 1812).

A Map of Worcester County, Maryland contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. Also view Maryland Town / Municipal Maps.

Worcester County, Maryland Courthouse Records

Worcester County, Maryland Courthouse
  • Save

Worcester County, MD Courthouse

The Worcester County Courthouse is located in Snow Hill, Maryland. Learn More About State of Maryland Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Worcester county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Worcester County Circuit Court Clerk has Marriage Records from 1742 and Land Records from 1742. The County Circuit Court Clerk is responsible for recording documents related to property. Documents recorded consist of, but are not limited to, deeds, mortgages, restrictions, notaries, public and elected county officers. Other documents, such as Military Service Discharges, foreign birth certificates, as well as obscure documents like cattle brands, are also recorded here.
  • Worcester County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1742. The County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk responsibilities include supervising Clerk's office personnel in the civil, criminal, courtroom clerks, business license, marriage license, land records, and juvenile units.
  • Worcester County Government Records are available in original, microfilm and digital formats from the Maryland State Archives.

Worcester County, Maryland Census Records

Worcester County, Maryland Vital Records

Worcester County, Maryland Resources

Worcester County, Maryland External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save