Marion County, Indiana Records

Marion County, Indiana (Map It) was created on April 1, 1822 from Delaware New Purchase. This county was named for Gen. Francis MarionAmerican Revolutionary War hero .

Marion County is bordered by  Hamilton County (north), Hancock County (east), Shelby County (southeast), Johnson County (south), Morgan County (southwest), Hendricks County (west), Boone County (northwest).

Marion County Cities and Towns include  Beech Grove, Clermont, Crows Nest, Homecroft, Indianapolis, Lawrence, Meridian Hills, N. Crows Nest, Rocky Ripple, Southport, Speedway, Spring Hill, Warren Park, West Newton, Williams Creek, Wynnedale.

Marion County Townships include  Pike, Wayne, Decatur, Washington, Center, Perry, Lawrence, Warren, Franklin. See Map of Marion County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Marion County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Marion County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Marion County, IN Courthouse

The Marion County Courthouse is located in Indianapolis, Indiana. Some materials have been microfilmed and are available in the City Microfilm & Archives Division that is located in the sub-basement down the hall from Records.  Along with the Records Division, public access terminals are located in the Probate Division room 1741. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Marion county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Marion County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1822, Probate Records from 1822 and Court Records from 1822. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Marion County Recorder has Land Records from 1822. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Marion County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Marion County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Marion County, Indiana Census Records

Marion County, Indiana Vital Records

Marion County, Indiana Resources

Marion County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save
  • City Directories - Indianapolis ( Locate residents, organizations, and businesses in Indianapolis, within selected years 1857-1870, and yearly 1872-1923.