Hancock County, Indiana Records

Hancock County, Indiana (Map It) was created on March 1, 1828 from Madison County. This county was named for John Hancock, first signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Hancock County is bordered by  Madison County (north), Henry County (east), Rush County (southeast), Shelby County (south), Marion County (west), Hamilton County (northwest).

Hancock County Cities and Towns include  Fortville, Greenfield, Maxwell, McCordsville, New Palestine, Shirley, Spring Lake, Wilkinson.

Hancock County Townships include  Blue River, Brandywine, Brown, Buck Creek, Center, Green, Jackson, Sugar Creek, Vernon. See Map of Hancock County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Hancock County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Hancock County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Hancock County, IN Courthouse

The Hancock County Courthouse is located in Greenfield, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in Dec. 1940, No records harmed. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hancock county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Hancock County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1828, Probate Records from 1828 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Hancock County Recorder has Land Records from 1827. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Hancock County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Hancock County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Hancock County, Indiana Census Records

Hancock County, Indiana Vital Records

Hancock County, Indiana Resources

Hancock County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save