Madison County, Indiana Records

Madison County, Indiana (Map It) was created on July 1, 1823 from Delaware New Purchase. This county was named for U.S. President James Madison.

Madison County is bordered by  Grant County (north), Delaware County (east), Henry County (southeast), Hancock County (south), Hamilton County (west), Tipton County (northwest).

Madison County Cities and Towns include  Alexandria, Anderson, Chesterfield, Country Club Heights, Edgewood, Elmhurst, Elwood, Frankton, Ingalls, Lapel, Markleville, Orestes, Pendleton, River Forest, Summitville, Woodlawn Heights.

Madison County Townships include  Adams, Anderson, Boone, Duck Creek, Fall Creek, Green, Jackson, Lafayette, Monroe, Pipe Creek, Richland, Stony Creek, Union, Van Buren. See Map of Madison County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Madison County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Madison County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Madison County, IN Courthouse

The Madison County Courthouse is located in Anderson, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in Dec. 1880, Lost: marriage, circuit court and common pleas court records Saved: wills from 1879, deeds from 1825, and general index to deeds from 1829. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Madison county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Madison County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1853, Probate Records from 1879 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Madison County Recorder has Land Records from 1822. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Madison County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Madison County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Madison County, Indiana Census Records

Madison County, Indiana Vital Records

Madison County, Indiana Resources

Madison County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save