Knox County, Illinois Records

Knox County, Illinois (Map It) was created on January 13, 1825 from unorganized land, Fulton County and Henry County. Knox County was named for Gen. Henry Knox (1750-1806), American Revolutionary War general and first United States Secretary of War.

Knox County is bordered by  Henry County (north), Stark County (east), Peoria County (southeast), Fulton County (south), Warren County (west), Mercer County (northwest)

Knox County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Abingdon, Altona, East Galesburg, Galesburg, Henderson, Knoxville, London Mills, Maquon, Oneida, Rio, St. Augustine, Victoria, Wataga, Williamsfield, Yates City.

Knox County Townships include  Knox, Haw Creek, Henderson, Indian Point, Elba, Galesburg, Galesburg City, Chestnut, Cedar, Copley, Persifer, Ontario, Orange, Maquon, Lynn, Sparta, Rio, Salem, Walnut Grove, Victoria, Truro. View the Knox Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Knox County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Knox County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Knox County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Knox County, IL Courthouse

The Knox County Courthouse is located in Galesburg, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Knox county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Knox County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1830 and Birth & Death Records from 1877. The County Clerk maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County.
  • Knox County Recorder of Deeds has Land Records from 1818. The County Recorder of Deeds serves the people of County by receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Knox County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1830 and Court Records from 1836. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Knox County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Knox County, Illinois Census Records

Knox County, Illinois Vital Records

Knox County, Illinois Resources

Knox County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save