Mercer County, Illinois Records

Mercer County, Illinois (Map It) was created on January 13, 1825 from unorganized land. Mercer County was named for Hugh Mercer (1726-1777), British officer in the Seven Years' War and general in the Continental Army during the American Revolutionary War.

Mercer County is bordered by  Rock Island County (north), Henry County (east), Knox County (southeast), Henderson County (south), Warren County (south), Des Moines County, Iowa (southwest), Louisa County, Iowa (west)

Mercer County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Aledo, Alexis, Boden, Burgess, Cable, Eliza, Gilchrist, Hamlet, Joy, Keithsburg, Mannon, Marston, Matherville, Millersburg, New Boston, New Windsor, North Henderson, Norwood, Petersville, Preemption, Reynolds, Seaton, Shale City, Sherrard, Sugar Grove, Swedona, Viola, Wanlock, Windsor.

Mercer County Townships include  Keithsburg, Eliza, Greene, Abington, Duncan, Preemption, Perryton, Ohio Grove, North Henderson, Mercer, Millersburg, New Boston, Rivoli, Richland Grove, Suez. View the Mercer Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Mercer County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Mercer County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Mercer County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Mercer County, IL Courthouse

The Mercer County Courthouse is located in Aledo, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mercer county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Mercer County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1835, Birth & Death Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1834. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Mercer County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1837 and Court Records from 1836. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Mercer County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Mercer County, Illinois Census Records

Mercer County, Illinois Vital Records

Mercer County, Illinois Resources

Mercer County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save