Grundy County, Illinois Records

Grundy County, Illinois (Map It) was created on February 17, 1841 from La Salle County. Grundy County was named for Felix Grundy (1777–1840), Tennessean senator that served as the thirteenth United States Attorney General.

Grundy County is bordered by  Kendall County (north), Will County (east), Kankakee County (southeast), Livingston County (south), LaSalle County (west)

Grundy County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Morris, Braceville, Carbon Hill, Coal City, Diamond, Dwight, East Brooklyn, Gardner, Godley, Kinsman, Mazon, Minooka, South Wilmington, Verona.

Grundy County Townships include  Highland, Felix, Erienna, Garfield, Goodfarm, Goose Lake, Greenfield, Braceville, Aux Sable, Norman, Mazon, Maine, Morris, Nettle Creek, Saratoga, Vienna, Wauponsee. View the Grundy Federal Township Plats of Illinois from 1804-1891.

A Grundy County, Illinois General Highway Maps includes County, City and Township maps which contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Grundy County, Illinois Courthouse Records

Grundy County, Illinois Courthouse
  • Save

Grundy County, IL Courthouse

The Grundy County Courthouse is located in Morris, Illinois. Learn More About State of Illinois Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Grundy county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Grundy County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1841, Birth & Death Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1832. The County Clerk & Recorder of Deeds maintains records and issues certificates of vital statistics (birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage certificates) for the entire County. The Recorder's duties are receiving, filing and maintaining all records related to real property in our county. These documents range from all types of conveyance deeds, mortgages, releases and assignments, property liens, as well as, assorted federal, state and local liens. The Recorder’s office is responsible for the recordation and storage of plats of subdivision, land surveys and monument records. Many other types of miscellaneous documents are recorded, such as; foreign birth certificates, foreign marriage licenses, and military discharge paperwork to name a few.
  • Grundy County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Probate Records from 1841 and Court Records from 1837. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court, commonly known as the Circuit Clerk, is the keeper of the files and records of the Circuit Court. The Circuit Clerk's Office retains documents some of which include criminal law, chancery, support, probate, adoption, ect....
  • Grundy County Treasurer's Office is responsible for the statutory duties required as County Treasurer and as Ex-Officio County Collector of Real Estate Property Taxes and Drainage District Taxes for the entire county.
  • Local Government Records Database provides a listing of the local governmental records held by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) system

Grundy County, Illinois Census Records

Grundy County, Illinois Vital Records

Grundy County, Illinois Resources

Grundy County, Illinois External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save