Gwinnett County, Georgia Records

Gwinnett County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 15, 1818 from Cherokee Cession of 1817 and Creek Cession of 1818. Portions of Gwinnett County were used to create DeKalb County (1822) and Barrow County (1914). Additionally, portions of Gwinnett were transferred to the following counties: Hall County (1819), Jackson County (1819), DeKalb County (1823, 1828, and 1829), Walton County (1820), and Rockdale County (1875). Gwinnett County was named in honor of Button Gwinnett (1735-1777), one of Georgia's delegates to the Continental Congress who signed the Declaration of Independence.

Gwinnett County is bordered by  Forsyth County (north), Hall County (norteast), Jackson County (norteast), Barrow County (east), Walton County (southwest), DeKalb County (southwest), Rockdale County (south), Fulton County (west)

A Map of Gwinnett County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Gwinnett County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Gwinnett County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Gwinnett County, GA Courthouse

The Gwinnett County Courthouse is located in Lawrenceville, Georgia. The County Courthouse burned in 1871, some records were destroyed.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Gwinnett county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Gwinnett County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1871 and Court Records from 1858. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Gwinnett County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1871 and Probate Records from 1818.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Gwinnett County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Gwinnett County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Gwinnett County, Georgia Census Records

Gwinnett County, Georgia Vital Records

Gwinnett County, Georgia Resources

Gwinnett County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save