Walton County, Georgia Records

Walton County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 15, 1818 from Creek Cession of 1818. Walton County was named in honor of George Walton (1749 - 1804), one of Georgia's delegates to the Continental Congress who signed the Declaration of Independence.

Walton County is bordered by  Barrow County (north), Oconee County (northeast), Morgan County, Newton County (south), Rockdale County (southwest), Gwinnett County (northwest)

A Map of Walton County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Walton County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Walton County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Walton County, GA Courthouse

The Walton County Courthouse is located in Monroe, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Walton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Walton County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1819 and Court Records from 1819. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Walton County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1825 and Probate Records from 1820.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Walton County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Walton County Tax Commissioner
  • The Walton County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Walton County, Georgia Census Records

Walton County, Georgia Vital Records

Walton County, Georgia Resources

Walton County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save