Fulton County, Georgia Records

Fulton County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 20, 1853 from DeKalb County County plus the former Campbell and Milton Counties and a portion of Cobb County (Fulton County was consolidated with Campbell County and Milton counties on Jan. 1, 1932. Campbell County was created on Dec. 20, 1828 from portions of Carroll County, Coweta County, DeKalb County, and Fayette County counties. Milton County was created on Dec. 18, 1847 from portions of Cherokee County, Cobb County, and Forsyth County counties. Fulton County was named in honor of Robert Fulton, an engineer and the inventor of the steamboat.

Fulton County is bordered by  Cherokee County (northwest), Forsyth County (norteast), Gwinnett County (east), DeKalb County (east), Clayton County (south), Fayette County (south), Coweta County (southwest), Carroll County (west), Douglas County (west) at Chattahoochee River, Cobb County (west) .

A Map of Fulton County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Fulton County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Fulton County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Fulton County, GA Courthouse

The Fulton County Courthouse is located in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Fulton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Fulton County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1854 and Court Records from 1854. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Fulton County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1854 and Probate Records from 1854.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Fulton County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Fulton County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Fulton County, Georgia Census Records

Fulton County, Georgia Vital Records

Fulton County, Georgia Resources

Fulton County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save