Baldwin County, Georgia Records

Baldwin County, Georgia (Map It) was created on June 27, 1806 from Creek cessions of 1802 and 1805. Baldwin County lost area to Morgan County, Jones County, Putnam County, and Randolph County and gained land from Hancock County and Washington County. Baldwin County was named in honor of Abraham Baldwin (1754 - 1807), a Founding Father, a U.S. Senator (1799 - 1807), one of the Georgia delegates who signed the U.S. Constitution.

Baldwin County is bordered by  Putnam County (north), Hancock County (northeast), Washington County (east), Wilkinson County (south), Jones County (west).

A Map of Baldwin County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Baldwin County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Baldwin County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Baldwin County, GA Courthouse

The Baldwin County Courthouse is located in Milledgeville, Georgia. A Fire destroyed the Courthouse in 1861, Destroying Court and Land records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Baldwin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Baldwin County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1861 and Court Records from 1861. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1805, 1807, 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Baldwin County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1806 and Probate Records from 1808.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Baldwin County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Baldwin County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Baldwin County, Georgia Census Records

Baldwin County, Georgia Vital Records

Baldwin County, Georgia Resources

Baldwin County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save