Wilkinson County, Georgia Records

Wilkinson County, Georgia (Map It) was created on May 11, 1803 from Creek Cessions of 1802 and 1805. Wilkinson County was named in honor of General James Wilkinson (1757 - 1825), a hero of the Revolutionary War and of the War of 1812.

Wilkinson County is bordered by  Baldwin County (north), Washington County ( northeast), Johnson County (east), Laurens County, Twiggs County (southwest), Jones County (northwest)

A Map of Wilkinson County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wilkinson County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Wilkinson County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Wilkinson County, GA Courthouse

The Wilkinson County Courthouse is located in Irwinton, Georgia. The County Corthouse was destroyed by fire in 1824 & 1854, all records were destroyed. The courthouse was also burned down with minimal loss of records in 1864 (Sherman's Troops) and in 1924.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wilkinson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Wilkinson County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1855 and Court Records from 1855. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1805, 1807, 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Wilkinson County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1854 and Probate Records from 1854.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Wilkinson County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Wilkinson County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Wilkinson County, Georgia Census Records

Wilkinson County, Georgia Vital Records

Wilkinson County, Georgia Resources

Wilkinson County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save