Shasta County, California Records

Shasta County, California (Map It) was created on February 18, 1850 as one of the original 27 counties (For the first year of organization, Trinity County was attached to Shasta County.). Shasta County was named for Mount Shasta. the name Shasta is derived from the English equivalent for the name of an Indian tribe that once lived in the area. The name of the tribe was spelled in various ways until the present version was used when the county was established

Shasta County is bordered by Tehama County (south), Trinity County (west), Siskiyou County (north), Modoc County (northeast), Lassen County (east), Plumas County (southeast) .

Shasta County Cities and Towns include Anderson, Redding, Shasta Lake City .

Since its creation Shasta County boundries have changed to include these:

Shasta County, California Courthouse Records

Shasta County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Shasta County, CA Courthouse
Old Shasta County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Old Shasta County Courthouse

The Shasta County Courthouse is located in Redding, California. Land was added from Plumas County in 1872. All records were destroyed in the great fire of June 14th, 1853. Learn More About State of California Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Courthouse History - After a new courthouse was built in Redding in 1956, Shasta's third courthouse was used as a county office building until 1963, when it was demolished to make room for a court annex. Locals remember that the tax assessor's office was placed on the upper floor of the building to discourage complaints about assessments. The statue of Justice and the bell from the dome of the old building are displayed on the grounds.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Some early court records from the various courts may have been sent to the California State Archives. Besides court minutes and judgements, these records include tax lists, wills, deeds, estate inventories, and marriage bonds. The California State Archives has microfilm of selected county records, 1850–1919.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Shasta county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Some counties encompass land settled in the eighteenth century; their records pre-date county formation. Land transactions and vital records recorded in the county are at the county recorder's office. The county clerk general has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be in either place, depending on how filed.

  • Shasta County Recorder-Clerk has Birth / Death Records from 1873, Marriage Records from 1852 and Land Records from 1852. The County Recorder-Clerk is s responsible for examination and recording of all documents presented for recording that deal with establishing ownership of land in the County or as required by statute; administers the real property transfer tax law and maintains a permanent record and indexes of all documents for public viewing plus providing certified copies requested by the public; recording of all lawful documents such as deeds, deeds of trust, judgments, liens, affidavits, Uniform Commercial Code Financial Statements, etc; and the filing of Births, Deaths, and Marriages.
  • Shasta County Clerk of Superior Court has Probate Records from 1850 and Court Records from 1850. The County Clerk of Superior Court has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be here or in the Recorders Office, depending on how it was filed.
  • Shasta County County Treasurer / Tax Collector
  • Local Registrar of Births and Deaths, 2650 Breslauer Way, Redding, CA 96001; Office (530) 225-5678

Shasta County, California Census Records

Shasta County, California Vital Records

Shasta County, California Resources

Shasta County, California External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save