Union County, Arkansas Records

Union County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on November 2, 1829 and was formed from Hempstead County and Clark County. Parts of Union County was used to form the following counties: Ashley 1848, Bradley 1840, Calhoun 1850, Columbia 1852, Ouachita 1842.

Other county boundry changes occured when Boundaries defined 5 November 1836, line with Lafayette defined 26 November 1846, line with Ouachita changed 6 January 1853, part annexed to Columbia 21 December 1851, and part annexed to Calhoun 19 October 1862. Union County was named for the concept of the union of the states.

Union County is bordered by Ouachita County (northwest), Calhoun County (north), Bradley County (northeast), Ashley County (east), Morehouse Parish, Louisiana (southeast), Union Parish, Louisiana (south), Claiborne Parish, Louisiana (southwest), Columbia County (west).

Union County Cities and Towns include Calion, El Dorado, Felsenthal, Huttig, Junction City, Mount Holly, Norphlet, Smackover, Strong.

A Map of Union County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at MapGeeks.org

Union County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Union County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Union County, AR Courthouse

The Union County Courthouse is located in El Dorado, Arkansas. All records except tax books are complete from 1828. The government that came into power at the last named date destroyed the taxbooks. Records are in excellent state of preservation and are kept in fire-proof vaults at the courthouse. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Union county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Union County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1839, Land Records from 1830 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Union County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1847 and has Probate Records from 1830. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Union County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Union County Health Department

Union County, Arkansas Census Records

Union County, Arkansas Vital Records

Union County, Arkansas Resources

  • Union County Genealogical Society, Barton Library, 200 E. 5th, El Dorado, AR 71730-3897
  • Smackover Genealogical & Historical Society, 700 N. Broadway, Smackover, AR 71762
  • Union County, Arkansas Message Boards

Union County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save