Calhoun County, Arkansas Records

Calhoun County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on December 6, 1850 and was formed from Dallas County, Ouachita County and Union County.

Other county boundry changes occured when Part added to Union County and Bradley County by Act of 19 November 1862. AAAAA County was named in honor of John C. Calhoun (1782–1850), 7th Vice President of the United States and a Senator from South Carolina.

Calhoun County is bordered by Dallas County (north), Cleveland County (northeast), Bradley County (east), Union County (south), Ouachita County (west).

Calhoun County Cities and Towns include Hampton, Harrell, Thornton, Tinsman.

A Map of Calhoun County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Calhoun County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Calhoun County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Calhoun County, AR Courthouse

The Calhoun County Courthouse is located in Hampton, Arkansas. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in AAAAA county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Calhoun County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1880, Land Records from 1851 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Calhoun County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1851 and has Probate Records from 1880. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Calhoun County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Calhoun County Health Department

AAAAA County, Arkansas Census Records

AAAAA County, Arkansas Vital Records

Calhoun County, Arkansas Resources

Calhoun County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save