Adams County, Wisconsin Records

Adams County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on March 11, 1848 from Portage County. The county was named in honor of John Quincy Adams (1767-1848), President of the United States 1825-1829.

Adams County is bordered by Wood County (northwest), Portage County (northeast), Waushara County (east), Marquette County (east), Columbia County (southeast), Sauk County (southwest), Juneau County (west).

Adams County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Adams, Wisconsin Dells, Adams, Big Flats, Colburn, Dell Prairie, Easton, Jackson, Leola, Lincoln, Monroe, New Chester, New Haven, Preston, Quincy, Richfield, Rome, Springsville, Strongs Prairie, Friendship.

A Map of Adams County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Adams County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Adams County, WI Courthouse

The Adams County Courthouse is located in Friendship, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records. Adams County was attached to Sauk County (1848–53) Some early records may be located there.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Adams county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Adams County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1857, Marriage Records from 1854, Death Records from 1876 and Land Records from 1853. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Adams County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1855. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Adams County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1854. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Adams County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Adams County, Wisconsin Census Records

Adams County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Adams County, Wisconsin Resources

Adams County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save