Marquette County, Wisconsin Records

Marquette County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on December 7, 1836 from Brown County. The county was named in honor of Father Pere Jacques Marquette, missionary and explorer.

Marquette County is bordered by Waushara County (north), Green Lake County (east), Columbia County (south), Adams County (west).

Marquette County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Montello, Buffalo, Crystal Lake, Douglas, Harris, Mecan, Montello, Moundville, Neshkoro, Newton, Oxford, Packwaukee, Shields, Springfield, Westfield, Endeavor, Neshkoro, Oxford, Westfield.

A Map of Marquette County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Marquette County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Marquette County, WI Courthouse

The Marquette County Courthouse is located in Montello, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records. Marquette County was attached to Brown County for county and judicial purposes from 1836–44; Fond du Lac County for judicial purposes from 1844–48. Some early records may be found there.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Marquette county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Marquette County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1864, Marriage Records from 1848, Death Records from 1876 and Land Records from 1836. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Marquette County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1860. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Marquette County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1849. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Marquette County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Marquette County, Wisconsin Census Records

Marquette County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Marquette County, Wisconsin Resources

Marquette County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save