Wirt County, West Virginia Records

Wirt County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on January 19, 1848 from portions of Jackson County and Wood County. The county was named in honor of William Wirt (1772-1834), U.S. Attorney General.

Wirt County is bordered by Wood County (northwest), Ritchie County (northeast), Calhoun County (southeast), Roane County (south), Jackson County (southwest).

A Map of Wirt County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wirt County Cities and Towns include Brohard, Creston, Elizabeth, Munday, Palestine

Wirt County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Wirt County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Wirt County, WV Courthouse

The Wirt County Courthouse is located in Elizabeth, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wirt county. The dates indicated below are the first known records for this county which may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth. Courthouse Fire in 1910, but apparently not all records lost, as many records prior to 1910 still exist.

Although Wirt County was formed in 1848, many of its records on microfilm do not begin until much later, or have significant gaps. The Library of Virginia records on microfilm fill in some of the gaps for some birth, death and marriage records for 1854-60; Births: Before 1870; Deaths: Before 1870, 1875; Marriages: Before 1854.

Wirt County, West Virginia Census Records

Wirt County, West Virginia Vital Records

Wirt County, West Virginia Resources

Wirt County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save