Ohio County, West Virginia Records

Ohio County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on October 7, 1776 from portions of the District of West Augusta (Virginia). The county was named after the Ohio River that forms the county's western boundary, the name was derived from the Indian word Ohionhiio, meaning great or beautiful river.

Ohio County is bordered by Brooke County (north), Washington County, Pennsylvania (east), Marshall County (south), Belmont County, Ohio (west), Jefferson County, Ohio (northwest).

A Map of Ohio County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Ohio County Cities and Towns include Bethlehem, Clearview, Elm Grove, Mozart, Overbrook, Triadelphia, Valley Grove, Warwood, West Liberty, Wheeling

Ohio County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Ohio County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Ohio County, WV Courthouse

The Ohio County Courthouse is located in Wheeling, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Ohio county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863.

Ohio County, West Virginia Census Records

Ohio County, West Virginia Vital Records

Ohio County, West Virginia Resources

Ohio County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save