Washington County, Rhode Island Records

Washington County, Rhode Island (Map It) was created on June 3, 1729 from part of Providence Plantations. The county was named for George Washington, American Revolutionary War general and first President of the USA.

Washington County is bordered by Windham County, Connecticut (northwest), Kent County (north), Bristol County (northeast), New London County, Connecticut (west), Newport County (east), Suffolk County, New York (southwest), Dukes County, Massachusetts (southeast).

Washington County Cities and Towns include Charlestown, Exeter, Hopkinton, Narragansett, New Shoreham, North Kingstown, Richmond, South Kingstown, Westerly.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Rhode Island maps.

Washington County, Rhode Island Courthouse Records

The Washington County Courthouse is located in Wakefield, Rhode Island. Learn More About State of Rhode Island Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Washington county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Save
  • Charlestown was established in 1669 and incorporated in 1738 from Westerly. It has Land Records from 1738, Probate Records from 1738 and Court Records from 1738. Villages include Burdickville, Carolina, Cross Mill, Kenyon, Quonochontaug, Shannock, Watchaug, Wood River Junction. Charlestown Town Clerk, 4540 South County Trail, Charlestown, RI 02813; Phone: 401-364-1200. More info
  • Exeter was established in 1641 and incorporated in 1641 from North Kingstown. It has Land Records from 1742, Probate Records from 1742 and Court Records from 1742. Villages include Arcadia, Austin, Black Plain, Fisherville, Lewis City, Liberty, Millville. Exeter Town Clerks Office, 675 Ten Rod Road, Exeter, RI 02822; Phone: 401-294-3891. More info
  • Hopkinton was established in 1639 and incorporated in 1757 from Westerly. It has Land Records from 1757, Probate Records from 1757 and Court Records from 1757. Villages include Alton, Ashaway, Barberville, Bethel, Brightman Hill, Burdickville, Canonchet, Centerville, Champlin Hill, Hope Valley, Locustville, Moscow, Potter Hill, Rockville, Woodville, Wyoming, Yawgoog. Hopkinton Town Clerk, 1 Townhouse Road, Hopkinton, RI 02833; Phone: 401-377-7777. More info
  • Narragansett was established in 1888 and incorporated in 1901 from South Kingstown District, 1888. It has Land Records from 1888, Probate Records from 1901 and Court Records from 1901. Villages include Anawan Cliffs, Bonnet Shores, Cedar Point, Galilee, Great Island, Jerusalem, Narragansett Pier, Point Judith, Sand Hill Cove, Saunderstown, Scarborough, South Ferry, Wesquage. Was a district before becoming a town; 1888—1901 records in S. Kingstown. Proprietor’s records are in print: James Arnold, The Fones Record (1894; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1990). More info
  • Richmond was established in 1669 and incorporated in 1747 from Charlestown. It has Land Records from 1747, Probate Records from 1747 and Court Records from 1747. Villages include Alton, Arcadia, Carolina, Elmhurst, Hillsdale, Kenyon, Shannock, Usequepaug, Wood River Junction, Woodville, Wyoming. Richmond Town Clerk, 5 Richmond Townhouse Road, Wyoming, RI 02898; Phone: 401-539-2497. More info
  • South Kingstown was established in 1657 and incorporated in 1723 from Kingstown. It has Land Records from 1674, Probate Records from 1674 and Court Records from 1674. Villages include Bridgetown, Glenn Rock, Gould Crossing, Green Hill, Kingston, Matunuck, Peace Dale, Perryville, Rocky Brook, Tower Hill, Usequepaug, Wakefield, West Kingston. Kingstown divided into North and South in 1723. Records before that date were in North Kingston, but damaged in 1870. Copies are here. More info
  • Westerly (called Haversham, 1686–89) was established in 1661 and incorporated in 1669 as an original town. It has Land Records from 1669, Probate Records from 1669 and Court Records from 1669. Villages include Avondale, Bradford, Dunn's Corners, Haversham, Misquamicut, Napatree Point, Pleasant Hill, Pleasant View, Potter Hill, Sandy Point, Shelter Harbor, Stillmanville, Watch Hill, Weekapaug, White Rock, Winnapaug. Westerly Town Hall, Town Hall, Westerly, RI 02891; Phone: 401-348-2500. More info

Washington County, Rhode Island Census Records

Washington County, Rhode Island Vital Records

Washington County, Rhode Island Resources

Washington County, Rhode Island External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save