Johnson County, Nebraska Records

Johnson County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on March 06, 1855 from Nemaha County and Otoe County. The county was named in honor of Richard Mentor Johnson, the ninth vice president of the United States.

Johnson County is bordered by Otoe County  (north), Nemaha County  (east), Pawnee County  (south), Gage County  (west), Lancaster County - northwest corner.

Johnson County Cities and Towns include Cook, Crab Orchard, Elk Creek, Sterling, Tecumseh.

A Map of Johnson County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Johnson County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Johnson County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Johnson County, NE Courthouse

The Johnson County Courthouse is located in Tecumseh, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Johnson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Johnson County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1858. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Johnson County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1859. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Johnson Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1867 and Court Records from 1862. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1862,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Johnson County, Nebraska Census Records

Johnson County, Nebraska Vital Records

Johnson County, Nebraska Resources

Johnson County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save