Nemaha County, Nebraska Records

Nemaha County, Nebraska (Map It) was was created on November 23, 1854 as One of Nine original counties. The county was originally called Forney County and on January 26, 1856 it was renamed to Nemaha County. The county was named for the word Nimaha, the Oto name meaning miry water for a stream which crossed the county and emptied into the Missouri River.

Nemaha County is bordered by Otoe County  (north), Atchison County, Missouri  (east), Holt County, Missouri  (southeast), Richardson County  (south), Pawnee County  (southwest), Johnson County  (west).

Nemaha County Cities and Towns include Auburn, Brock, Brownville, Johnson, Julian, Nemaha, Peru.

Nemaha County Precincts include Aspinwall, Bedford, Benton, Brownville, Douglas, Glen Rock, Lafayette, London, McKissick Island, Nemaha, Peru, St. Deroin, Washington..

A Map of Nemaha County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Nemaha County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Nemaha County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Nemaha County, NE Courthouse

The Nemaha County Courthouse is located in Auburn, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Nemaha county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Nemaha County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1855. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Nemaha County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1855. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Nemaha Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1855 and Court Records from 1855. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1855,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Nemaha County, Nebraska Census Records

Nemaha County, Nebraska Vital Records

Nemaha County, Nebraska Resources

Nemaha County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save