Douglas County, Nebraska Records

Douglas County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on November 23, 1854 from One of Nine Original Counties. The county was named in honor of Stephen Arnold Douglas, the American statesman, U. S. senator, and presidential candidate.

Douglas County is bordered by Dodge County  (northwest), Washington County  (north), Pottawattamie County, Iowa  (east), Sarpy County  (south), Saunders County  (west).

Douglas County Cities and Towns include Bennington, maha, Ralston, Valley, Boys Town, Waterloo.

Douglas County Townships include Benson, Chicago, Douglas, Elkhorn, Florence, Jefferson, McArdle, Millard, City of Omaha, Platte Valley, Union, Waterloo.

A Map of Douglas County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Douglas County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Douglas County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Douglas County, NE Courthouse

The Douglas County Courthouse is located in Omaha, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Douglas county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Douglas County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1856. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Douglas County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1854. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Douglas Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1855 and Court Records from 1855. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1855,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Douglas County, Nebraska Census Records

Douglas County, Nebraska Vital Records

Douglas County, Nebraska Resources

Douglas County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save