Vernon County, Missouri Records

Vernon County, Missouri (Map It) was created on February 27, 1855 from Bates County. The county was named in honor of Miles Vernon, Missouri State Senator – the county was originally defined as having the same boundaries as Bates county, but was later declared unconstitutional and changed .

Vernon County is bordered by Bates County (north), St. Clair County (northeast), Cedar County (east), Barton County (south), Crawford County, Kansas (southwest), Bourbon County, Kansas (west), Linn County, Kansas (southwest).

Vernon County Cities and Towns include Bronaugh, Deerfield, Harwood, Horton, Metz, Milo, Moundville, Nevada, Richards, Schell City, Sheldon, Stotesbury, Walker.

A Map of Vernon County, Missouri contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Vernon County, Missouri Courthouse Records

Vernon County, Missouri Courthouse
  • Save

Vernon County, MO Courthouse

The Vernon County Courthouse is located in Nevada, Missouri. Both the courthouse and clerk's office were destroyed when the town was burned in 1863, County Court records are missing from 1861-65. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Vernon county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Vernon County, Missouri Census Records

Vernon County, Missouri Vital Records

Vernon County, Missouri Resources

Vernon County, Missouri External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save