Bates County, Missouri Records

Bates County, Missouri (Map It) was created on January 29, 1841 from Cass County (formally Van Buren County ) . The county was named in honor of Frederick Bates (1777-1825), the second governor of Missouri.

Bates County is bordered by Cass County (north), Henry County (northeast), St. Clair County (southeast), Vernon County (south), Linn County, Kansas (west), Miami County, Kansas (northwest).

Bates County Cities and Towns include Adrian, Amoret, Amsterdam, Butler, Drexel, Rich Hill, Rockville, Hume, Foster, Merwin, Passaic.

Bates County Townships include Charlotte Township, Deepwater Township, Deer Creek Township, East Boone Township, Elkhart Township, Grand River Township, Homer Township, Howard Township, Hudson Township, Lone Oak Township, Mingo Township, Mound Township, Mount Pleasant Township, New Home Township, Osage Township, Pleasant Gap Township, Prairie Township, Rockville Township, Shawnee Township, Spruce Township, Summit Township, Walnut Township, West Boone Township, West Point Township.

A Map of Bates County, Missouri contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Bates County, Missouri Courthouse Records

Bates County, Missouri Courthouse
  • Save

Bates County, MO Courthouse

The Bates County Courthouse is located in Butler, Missouri. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Bates county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Courthouse burned in 1861, some record loss.

  • Bates County Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1860 and Land Records from 1839
  • Bates County Circuit Court Clerk / Probate Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1845 and Court & Divorce Records from 1858.
  • Bates County Clerk of the Court has Birth & Death Records from 1883-1907
  • Bates County Tax Assessor Office is responsible for appraising and assessing real estate property and person property for the purpose of taxation as well as transferring ownership of real estate, and keeping real estate maps up to date.
  • Local Records Inventory Database, produced by the Missouri Local Records Preservation Program, is a compilation of inventories of local government records identified as having permanent or enduring value and housed primarily in county and municipal offices, but includes some libraries, museums, and historical and genealogical societies that maintain government records. Not all Missouri offices have been inventoried.
  • Bates County Health Department has Birth Certificates since 1920 and Death Certificates since 1980

Bates County, Missouri Census Records

Bates County, Missouri Vital Records

Bates County, Missouri Resources

Bates County, Missouri External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save