Polk County, Minnesota Records

Polk County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on July 20, 1858 (Organized in 1879) from Pembina County. The county was named in honor of James K. Polk (1795-1849), member of Congress from Tennessee, 1825-39; governor of Tennessee, 1839-41; president of the United States, 1845-49. On his last day in office, Polk approved the act of Congress which organized the Minnesota Territory.

Polk County is bordered by Marshall County (north), Pennington County (northeast), Red Lake County (northeast), Clearwater County (east), Mahnomen County (southeast), Norman County (south), Traill County, North Dakota (southwest), Grand Forks County, North Dakota (west).

Polk County Cities and Towns include Beltrami, Climax, Crookston, East Grand Forks, Erskine, Fertile, Fisher, Fosston, Gully, Lengby, McIntosh, Mentor, Nielsville, Trail, Winger.

Polk County Townships include Andover, Angus, Badger, Belgium, Brandsvold, Brandt, Brislet, Bygland, Chester, Columbia, Crookston, Eden, Esther, Euclid, Fairfax, Fanny, Farley, Fisher, Garden, Garfield, Gentilly, Godfrey, Grand Forks, Grove Park-Tilden, Gully, Hammond, Helgeland, Higdem, Hill River, Hubbard, Huntsville, Johnson, Kertsonville, Keystone, King, Knute, Lessor, Liberty, Lowell, Nesbit, Northland, Onstad, Parnell, Queen, Reis, Rhinehart, Roome, Rosebud, Russia, Sandsville, Scandia, Sletten, Sullivan, Tabor, Tynsid, Vineland, Winger, Woodside Townships.

A Map of Polk County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Polk County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Polk County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Polk County, MN Courthouse

The Polk County Courthouse is located in Crookston, Minnesota. At some time Polk County was attached to Crow Wing County, Douglas County and Clay County for county and or judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Polk county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Polk County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1873, Marriage Records from 1873 and Land Records from 1873. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Polk County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1877 and Court Records from 1879. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Polk County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Polk County, Minnesota Census Records

Polk County, Minnesota Vital Records

Polk County, Minnesota Resources

Polk County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save