Dakota County, Minnesota Records

Dakota County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on October 27, 1849 (Organized in 1853) from Unorganized Territory. The county was named in honor of the Dakota people, meaning an alliance or league.

Dakota County is bordered by Ramsey County (north), Washington County (northeast), Pierce County, Wisconsin (east), Goodhue County (southeast), Rice County (southwest), Scott County (west), Hennepin County (northwest).

Dakota County Cities and Towns include Apple Valley, Burnsville, Coates, Eagan, Farmington, Hampton, Hastings, Inver Grove Heights, Lakeville, Lilydale, Mendota, Mendota Heights, Miesville, New Trier, Northfield, Randolph, Rosemount, South St. Paul, Sunfish Lake, Vermillion, West St. Paul.

Dakota County Townships include Castle Rock, Douglas, Empire, Eureka, Greenvale, Hampton, Marshan, Nininger, Randolph, Ravenna, Sciota, Vermillion, Waterford Townships.

A Map of Dakota County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Dakota County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Dakota County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Dakota County, MN Courthouse

The Dakota County Courthouse is located in Hastings, Minnesota. At some time Dakota County was attached to Ramsey County for county and or judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Dakota county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Dakota County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1853 and Land Records from 1852. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Dakota County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1863 and Court Records from 1853. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Dakota County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Dakota County, Minnesota Census Records

Dakota County, Minnesota Vital Records

Dakota County, Minnesota Resources

Dakota County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save