Pierce County, Wisconsin Records

Pierce County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on February 25, 1858 from St. Croix County. The county was named in honor of Franklin Pierce (1804-1869), President of the United States 1853-1857.

Pierce County is bordered by St. Croix County (north), Dunn County (northeast), Pepin County (southeast), Goodhue County, Minnesota (southwest), Dakota County, Minnesota (west), Washington County, Minnesota (northwest).

Pierce County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Prescott, River Falls, Clifton, Diamond Bluff, El Paso, Ellsworth, Gilman, Hartland, Isabelle, Maiden Rock, Martell, Oak Grove, River Falls, Rock Elm, Salem, Spring Lake, Trenton, Trimbelle, Union, Bay City, Ellsworth, Elmwood, Maiden Rock, Plum City, Spring Valley.

A Map of Pierce County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Pierce County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Pierce County, WI Courthouse

The Pierce County Courthouse is located in Ellsworth, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pierce county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Pierce County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1851, Death Records from 1876 and Land Records from 1855. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Pierce County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1875. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Pierce County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1854. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Pierce County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Pierce County, Wisconsin Census Records

Pierce County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Pierce County, Wisconsin Resources

Pierce County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save